Date of Event : Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:56PM
DILIP RAMASWAMY won Wrens MVP Player of the Year 2016-17


And what a night we had!   Congratulations! The Rydalmere Wrens Executive sincerely thanks you for an outstanding year.


Dilip is one of the most gifted and aggressive batsman at the Wrens.  He is an enormous talent with powerful strokes to all parts of ground against all forms of bowling.  He is also an astute cricket brain who leads from the front.  He is also a very handy inswing bowler who bowls with pace, accuracy, and plenty of guile.


Dilip’s season was basically 2015-16 on steroids.  His 613 runs last year at an average of 51.1 is a mere shadow of his achievements this season.  By far and away he was the supreme batsman of the NDCA competition – he dominated every team in almost every game. I can’t recall a more thorough display of batting prowess at the Wrens for a long time. A truly remarkable year.  Congrats Dilip. 


Playing 13 matches in 3rd grade, Dilip scored a mind-blowing 934 runs at an incredible average of 84.9, including a highest score of 154 and 107. He also made 9 more scores over fifty – 78, 54, 90, 63, 72, 70, 53, 68 and 64. He also bowled 49 overs and claimed 8 wickets at an average of 19.5 runs per wicket, an economy rate of 3.2 runs per over, and a strike rate of 37 balls per wicket.  His best bowling was 3 for 10. He took 5 catches in the field including 1 at wicket-keeper. Congratulations on winning Wrens MVP Player of the Year.


The Rydalmere Cricket Club – the Mighty Wrens – had a truly stellar season.  It was no ordinary season, it may well just be the most successful and enjoyable season in the history of the Club.  The amazing achievements speak for themselves:


  • Northern District Cricket Association – Club Champions (10 win in past 11 seasons)


  • 3 massive Premierships – 2nd grade, 3rd grade and 4th grade


  • 3 phenomenal Minor Premierships – 2nd grade, 3rd grade and 4th grade


  • 1 Grade Grand Finalists


  • A swag of NDCA team and player awards


  • Dundas United juniors having a successful season


  • DILIP RAMASWAMY - winning Wrens MVP Player of the Year, HAMID MANGAL (2nd) and ABHAY VENKAT (3rd)


  • ABDUL EBRAHIMI - winning Wrens MVP Player of the Finals Series


  • MATT KENNEDY being inducted as Life Member of the Rydalmere Cricket Club


The Annual Report is now available on this website - click "Annual Reports" icon below


Last updated: Monday June 26, 2017 10:45PM
Author: Matt Roberts